All India Vice Chancellor’s T-20 Cricket Cup -2012 from Nov 19

Jammu,  November 18 (Scoop News) – University of Jammu  is all set to organize  All India Vice Chancellor’s T-20 Cricket Cup –2012 from 19th of November to 3rd of December.

Addressing a press conference on Sunday, Prof Mohan Paul Singh Ishar, Vice-Chancellor informed that altogether twenty Universities will participate in the event and Tournament shall conclude on 3rd Dec, 2012. Er. R.S Chib, the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports, Technical Education and Medical Education ,J&K State shall inaugurate the  All India Vice Chancellor’s T-20 Cricket Cup Tournament at University of Jammu on 19th Nov 12 at 10.00 A.M. Prof Ishar said that various Committees have been formed to ensure smooth conduct of the tournament. Terming the hosting of this National Cricket Tournament as a great honour for the University of Jammu and Cricket Lovers of this State. Prof Ishar also appreciated the work of Directorate of Physical Education, the Jammu University Non Teaching Employees Union and various other University Units who are working in Tandem to see the Tournament turns out to be successful one. Vice-Chancellor hoped that Students, cricket lovers shall turn up in large numbers to witness these Cricket Matches and encourage the participating teams. It is noteworthy to mention here that University of Jammu had retained Championship continuously for two seasons i.e. in the year 2008-09 at Mumbai and in 2009-10 at Kashmir. The matches shall be played on league-cum-knock out basis. All the teams shall be divided into four pools i.e. A, B, C & D consisting of five teams each. Each team shall be playing four matches in their respective pool and two top teams from each pool (whosoever qualifies) shall be picked up for quarter-finals. Thereafter, from 30thNovember, 2012 the knock-out competitions shall begin. All the necessary arrangements for boarding and lodging for the comfortable stay of the participating teams from all over the country has been made. Prof. Ishar assures that all the matches shall be played in true sportsmen spirit.The Universities who are participating in Tournament include University of Jammu, PAU, Ludhaina,IGNOU, Delhi, G B PANT University, Utharakhand,North Maharasthra University, Jalgoan, University of Kashmir, Jamia Milia Islamia, GNDU, Amritsar, University Of Pune, Pune,DDU, Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur, University of Mumbai,HP University, Shimla, Board of Secretary Education,Ajmer,SKUAST, Jammu, MANNU, Hyderabad, PU,Patiala, SKUAST, Kashmir, M.D.S University, Ajmer, PU, Chandigarh,   DelhUniversity, Delhi. Among others Prof Naresh Padha, Registrar, Prof Dhain. S Bhau, Director, Directorate of Physical Education, Ranjeet Kalra, Convenor, Media & Publicity Committee, Jai Kumar Sharma, OSD to Vice-Chancellor,Dr. Dawod Iqbal Baba, Rajkumar, Vinay Thusoo, Public Relations Officer, Sunil Sahi, Team Manager.