Mehbooba declare 2013 as year of consolidation

Jammu, December 17 (Scoop News)–President of PDP Mehbooba Mufti said that the peace process initiated by the Government headed by Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was an irreversible process and roadmap laid by the party was the only way to establish sustainable peace in the sub-continent.

Mehbooba Mufti was addressing one day convention of party workers of Jammu province.

“It was all due to the convictions of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed that the then Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee had extended a hand of friendship towards Pakistan at the time when tension between the two countries was high on the borders,” she said, adding that PDP through its pro-peace polices convinced both the neighboring countries to break the ice and take some Confidence Building Measures (CBMs) for restoration of peace in this region.  “Whatever steps Mufti Mohammad Sayeed had initiated for restoring peace, successive regimes at Delhi endorsed them,” she said and reiterated PDP’s commitment to work as facilitator for solution of Kashmir problem.

Seeking support of people to change the present corrupt and inefficient system, she said that credibility of National Conference (NC) led coalition regime has reached at its lowest ebb because this dispensation has lost faith of the common masses due to misdeeds.

She said that during the last four years the system has been totally collapsed because the government has eroded all institutions in the state. “Prevailing anarchy and chaos in the state is result of the failure of the system”, she said and added that ruling National Conference always encouraged anarchy in the State because turmoil and confusion suits this party.

PDP president, while expressing her gratitude towards Panches and Sarpanches for casting votes in favour in just concluded elections to the four seats of Legislative Council, said that results were encouraging. She declared year 2013 would be year of consolidation for the party.

Former Deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Beigh, said that PDP has scripted a new chapter of peace and development in Jammu and Kashmir and changed political discourse of the State through its visionary and pro-peace policies. He recalled that PDP was formed in the year 1999 with the aim to restore and uphold the dignity and honour of the every resident of Jammu and Kashmir. “There was a sense of fear and insecurity among the people when PDP was formed”, he recalled and added that through its pro-peace agenda PDP had not only created a sense of security among the people but also restored dignity of the common masses by pioneering and implementing peace and reconciliation policies.

 “It is unfortunate that the present government has not only failed to carry forward the peace process but it also wasted all the gains of the previous regime ”, he regretted.

Taking a dig at leaders of ruling National Conference for speaking different language, he said that NC leaders were trying to hoodwink the people by speaking such language. “Gone are the days when NC leaders used to be-fool the people by such deceit tactics”, he said and added that NC leaders can not hoodwink the people any more. “During the last four years this regime has done nothing to solve problems of the masses”, he said and added that it was unfortunate that corruption has been legalized in the State. “It is all due to the rampant corruption in the state that woes of poor have been mounting and funds sanctioned for their betterment and upliftment are being pocketed by those who are at the helm of the affairs”, he said.

Former Finance Minister Tariq Hamid Karra said that PDP would form next government because people were fed up with the mis-governance of the present regime headed by National Conference. He called upon the party workers to spread message of the party at every nook and corner of the State. He said that situation was in favour of the PDP but need of the hour was to consolidate party’s position on ground.  He said that only noticeable achievements of the Omar Abdullah led government was legalization of corruption.

S Rangil Singh, S Trilok Singh Bajwa,      Th. Balbir Singh, Mr Ved Mahajan, Mrs Shanti Devi, Mr Daman Basin, Th. Fallail Singh        ,   Mr Jagjeet Singh Jagga, Ch.  Hussain Ali Wafa,        Bharat Bhushan Gupta,   Sh. Ashok Jogi   ,  Smt. Vijay Dogra, Dupinder Kour,  Mrs Surjeet Kour,  Mr  Romesh Koul, Ashiq Hussain Khan,  Mr. Mohinder Kotwal, Mr Ab Rashid Malik , Sh. Yashpal Sharma Poonch,  Adv. Qamar (Rajouri), Shah Mohd Tantray, Rafiq Hussain Khan MLA,  Ch Zulufkar Ali , MLA, Mr Murtaza Ahmed Khan, MLC, Mr Syed Asgar Ali, MLC, R K Bali, Mr Suram Singh, Ab Hameed Manhas ,  Sukhdev Sharma, Surinder Singh, Ab Qayoom Dar, Sheikh Mujeeb Ali, Ab Ahad Wani , Partap Sharma , Pawan Dev Singh, Rajinder Singh Manhas, Baji Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Sushila Jamwal, Suresh Sharma, Mehboob Iqbal, Dinesh Gupta, , Bharat Choudhary and others also spoke on the occasion.