NC, Cong bag two seats each in Kashmir,Jammu

Jammu, December 06 (Scoop News) –The ruling National Conference-Congress coalition has swept the Legislative Council polls for which counting took place early this morning. Of the four LC seats which went for polls on December 03, National Conference and Congress bagged two seats each.

            For the K-1 constituency of Kashmir province, National Conference candidate Mr. Ali Muhammad Dar defeated his nearest rival Peer Muhammad Hussain of Peoples Democratic Party by a margin of 2675 votes. Of the 16155 votes polled for the constituency, Mr. Dar secured 8586 votes whileas Mr. Hussain got 5911 votes.

            For the K-2 seat, Mr. Ghulam Nabi Monga of Congress defeated his nearest rival Mr. Yasir Reshi of PDP by a margin of 2565 votes. Mr. Monga secured 8659 votes whileas Mr. Reshi got 6094 votes.

            For J-1 constituency Congress candidate Mr. Shyam Lal defeated his nearest rival Mr. Gurmeet Singh of PDP by a margin of 7034 votes. Of the 14874 votes polled, Mr. Shyam Lal secured 9123 votes whileas Mr. Gurmeet secured 2089 votes.

            For the J-2 seat, Dr. Shahnaz Ganai of National Conference defeated her nearest rival Mr. Ved Prakash Gupta of PDP by a margin of 6917 votes. Of the 14812 votes polled for the constituency, Dr. Shahnaz secured 9070 votes whileas Mr. Gupta secured 2153 votes.