Proclamation No. 1463: Declaration of Philippine Holidays

Last January, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo issued Proclamation No. 1463 declaring regular holidays and special non-working holidays for the year.

PGMA said Republic Act 9492 of 2007 provides that holidays, except those which are religious in nature, are moved to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation.

PGMA also said that Labor Day (May 1) has been “a long cherished tradition of workers, a holiday which trade unions fought very hard to institutionalize in the country and an international event that the workers want to celebrate on its exact date.”

Under Proclamation 1463, other regular holidays are:

·        Maundy Thursday (March 20)

·        Good Friday (March 21)

·        Araw ng Kagitingan (April 7, nearest Monday)

·        Independence Day (June 9, Monday nearest June 12);

·        National Heroes Day (Aug. 25)

·        Bonifacio Day (Dec. 1)

·        Christmas Day (Thursday)

·        Rizal Day (Dec. 30, Tuesday)

Special non-working holidays are:

·        Ninoy Aquino Day (Aug. 18, Monday nearest Aug. 21)

·        All Saints’ Day (Nov. 1, Saturday)

·        Dec. 26 (Friday)

·        Dec. 29 (Monday)

·        Dec. 31 (Wednesday)

The proclamation added that the declaration for the observance of the Eid’l Fitr would be issued after the approximate date of the Islamic holiday has been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar or the Hijra or lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.